Style: Buzz cut hairstyle

The thought of taking care of and styling my hair everyday is such a hassle. So I got a buzz cut.

amiel buzzcut

Most guys want easy and low maintenance haircuts, and the buzz cut is one of them. The cool buzz hairstyle isone of the easiest and quickest haircuts; it can take a minute or two to do it with an electric razor. It’s this factor of simplicity that a lot of male celebrities like Michael Phelps, David Beckham, Justin Timberlake, and Adam Levine, even with their teams of stylists, wear the buzz haircut.

Buzz cut takes its name from the sound of the electric razor used to shear off the hair. It’s also known by various other names – crew cut, skinhead, and semi-kalbo (in the Philippines). Buzz cuts come in different lengths, depending on what razor blades or guards are used. The lengths generally referred to are:

#0 – bare blade (shortest)
#1 – 3 mm
#2 – 6 mm
#3 – 9 mm
#4 – 12 mm
#5 – 15 mm
#6 – 19 mm

*The lengths can vary depending on the brand of razors/clippers and attachments used. The numbers correspond to 8ths of an inch.

I’m too lazy to comb or tidy my hair, let alone blow dry it or apply gel or hair spray, so the maintenance free buzz haircut works for me. Plus saves me money because I’d need less shampoo. No bad hair days for me too!

There are a lot different variations of the short buzz cuts to make them cool and stylish.  I’ve seen pals leave some bangs (fringe) so they can spike their hair up using gel, as in a mohawk. I tried a tingkoy (Visayan for nape) where you leave a tail or a tassel of hair (and grow it) at the back.

I used to have a flat-top buzz cut on, the barber simply trimmed the top part flat (using #2) and carved it into a disc.  (#0 on sides)

In 2010 til 2011, I always wore 2 stripes or bagis (bagis is a stripe mark in Visayan) etched on the sides to give my haircut some character (#2 all over).

And there was a time (one time only) when my buddies and I had a drunk betting to go to work skinhead the next morning (#0 razor).


Currently, I’m putting on a crew cut, very popular among the armed forces – more hair on top than on the sides (I do #1 on the sides and #2 on top).


This style doesn’t suit everyone’s preference though because this haircut can make the face look more defined. It shaves the hair very closely to the scalp. But if you’re planning to get a short buzz cut, be sure to do regular trims (at the barber shop or by yourself if you own an electric razor) to keep it looking clean.

A buzz cut is timeless, it always stays in style. And it makes a man’s life a lot easier, that’s for sure.

14 thoughts on “Style: Buzz cut hairstyle

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am very new to blogging and site-building and absolutely enjoyed you’re web site. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your site . You surely come with good article content. Many thanks for sharing your web site.

  2. I discovered your “Style: Buzz cut hairstyle | i am not a carnival” page and noticed you could have a lot more traffic. I have found that the key to running a website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get traffic from and they let you try it for free. I managed to get over 300 targetted visitors to day to my website. Check it out here: http://bag.sh/16M

  3. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Style: Buzz cut hairstyle | i am not a carnival .

  4. When I first saw this title Style: Buzz cut hairstyle | i am not a carnival on google I just whent and bookmark it. Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  5. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is fantastic, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Style: Buzz cut hairstyle | i am not a carnival .

  6. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is fantastic, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Style: Buzz cut hairstyle | i am not a carnival .

  7. I simply want to say I am very new to blogging and site-building and certainly loved this web site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You really come with beneficial writings. Regards for sharing your web site.

  8. Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is wonderful, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Style: Buzz cut hairstyle | i am not a carnival .

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

